Quarterly CFANS awards roundup | Q3 2023

October 6, 2023

Celebrating accomplishments in the CFANS community

Soil Judging Team in the pit
UMN Soil Judging Team shows off their new hardware, from their pit in the Black Hills, South Dakota.

In our quarterly celebration of award recipients across CFANS, we recognize students, faculty, staff and alumni who have received significant accolades. Congratulations to all recipients — we're #CFANSProud of you! The list below highlights awards received and/or announced in July through September 2023.

University Awards

  • UMN Office of the Vice President for Research Research Technical Staff Award
  • UMN Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost Award for Excellence in Academic Service
    • Brett Arenz, Plant Pathology
    • Metin Çakır, Applied Economics
    • Candice Hirsch, Agronomy and Plant Genetics
    • Anthony SeykoraAnimal Science
    • Ulrike TschirnerBioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
  • UMAA Distinguished Leadership Award for Internationals: Shwetlena Sabarwal (‘08 Applied Economics)

Beyond the University

  • Lifetime Achievement Award from National Association of Plant Breeders (NAPB): Jim Luby, Horticultural Science
  • Entomological Society of America, Plant-Insect Ecosystems: 
    • Master's Student Achievement in Entomology Award: Gloria Melotto 
    • Kenneth and Barbara Starks Plant Resistance to Insects Graduate Student Award: Hailey Shanovich (‘23 Natural Resources Science and Management)
    • Undergraduate Student Achievement in Entomology Award: Eleanor Meys, entomology minor
  • 2023 North Central AAAE Region Distinguished Agricultural Communications Educator: Garrett Steede, Agricultural Education, Communication and Marketing
  • Minnesota Association of Agricultural Educators - Outstanding Ag Education Teacher: Eric Sawatzke (‘16 Ag Ed), West Central Area Schools 
  • 2023 National Experiment Station Section Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award: Lane Johnson, Kyle Gill, Rachael Olesiak, and Andy David, Cloquet Forestry Center
  • World Dairy Expo, 1st Overall and 1st in Oral Reasons: Gopher Dairy Club
  • National Dairy Shrine Guest of Honor: Les HansenAnimal Science and Gopher Dairy Club Advisor and Coach
  • Region V Soil Judging Contest - 1st place in group judging and 2nd overall: UMN Soil Judging Team



To submit awards for inclusion in the next roundup, please complete this form and be sure to select the "Share an award recipient and corresponding award information" drop-down option. The next roundup will be published on our website in early January and will include awards received and/or announced in October, November and December 2023.