Siehl Prize for Excellence in Agriculture

Minnesota businessman and philanthropist Eldon Siehl believed that those who feed the world deserve recognition. Today the prize that bears his name honors those who have made extraordinary contributions in producing food and ending hunger.

Before his death in 1982, Siehl searched for a unique way to draw attention to professional, humanitarian, and academic accomplishments in agriculture. Through his estate’s generous gift, the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences found a way to honor his wish.

Every year the Siehl Prize for Excellence in Agriculture pays tribute to the irrepressible spirit of agriculture. It applauds those stewards of the land who promote conscientious study, enhance production, and advance methods of distributing food and knowledge. It is a tribute that will forever acknowledge the personal and professional investments of agriculture’s foremost leaders.

Laureate selection occurs in up to three categories: production, agribusiness, and knowledge.

Each laureate receives $50,000 and a beautiful granite and glass sculpture. See all Siehl Prize laureates.

About the Siehl Prize Sculpture

Agriculture is an art formed of earth, water, and the air and nurtured by science in the service of humanity. Designed with these principles in mind, the award sculpture celebrates the importance of the relationship between nature and the human interventions.

Granite and glass represent those primary elements so necessary to agricultural production. Chosen for their strength and beauty, dense granite and airy glass symbolize the natural elements of agriculture.

—Thomas Rose, Sculptor

Siehl Prize Nominations

Citizens of all nations may nominate living individuals or teams who exemplify the ideals expressed by the Siehl Prize. Self-nominations and nominations of relatives will not be accepted.

We are currently reimagining the eligibility and requirements of the Siehl Prize for Excellence in Agriculture to best align with Eldon Siehl's vision for this award. More information will be available soon.

A Visionary's Dream: Eldon Siehl