New wheat variety honors small Minnesota town

June 28, 2022

University of Minnesota is rolling out a hard red spring wheat called MN-Rothsay — a tip of the hat to the town straddling Wilkin and Otter Tail counties.

Earlier this month, the University of Minnesota College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences announced the newest hard red spring wheat variety will be named MN-Rothsay, honoring the small town in northwestern Minnesota on the road between Fergus Falls and Fargo.