Borealis Night of Excellence (Virtual)

Borealis Night of Excellence
Tuesday, May 4, 7:00 - 8:15 p.m. (CST)


Mark your calendars for the Borealis Night of Excellence, an annual event recognizing individuals who have made significant contributions to the College of Food, Agricultural, and Natural Resource Sciences (CFANS) and the greater community. The CFANS Alumni Society, CFANS Undergraduate Student Board, and CFANS Graduate Student Board come together to celebrate these exceptional alumni, students, staff, faculty and friends. The awards presented hold great honor in the CFANS community. In 2017, the Borealis Circle was formed to further recognize key individuals who have brought everlasting honor to the college. 

The 2021 award recipients are:

Student Leadership Award — Undergraduate — Amelia Hayden
Student Leadership Award — Graduate — Thomas Durfee (MS '16)
Exemplary Undergraduate Student Organization — Ag Business Club
Exemplary Graduate Student Organization — UMN Mycology Club
Outstanding Club Advisor — Leslie Hansen (BS '73, MS '75 Animal Science)
Exemplary Staff — Sarah Lindholm (BS '12 Nutrition, MS '18)
Exemplary Faculty — Nic Jelinski (PhD '14 Land & Atmospheric Science)
Exemplary Post-Doc — Bethanne Bruninga-Socolar
Little Red Oil Can — Student — Persephone Ma (MS '20)
Little Red Oil Can — Non-Student — Jim Bradeen
Outstanding Friend — Katie Fineout (BS '17)
Alumni Service — Margot Monson (BS '67, MS '94 Entomology)
Distinguished Alumni — James (Jim) Nesseth (BS '76 Animal Science, MEd '00)
Lifetime Achievement — Patricia Booth (BS '77, Nutrition & Dietetics)

Given the circumstances of being unable to gather for the Borealis Awards in person this year, CFANS is hosting a virtual Zoom event to acknowledge this year's awardees. We hope you will join as we hear from nominators and celebrate award recipients.