Borealis Night of Excellence Awards

Borealis Night of Excellence, Thursday, April 21 at 5 p.m.

An annual event, Borealis Night of Excellence recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the college and community. The CFANS Alumni Society, CFANS Undergraduate Student Board, and CFANS Graduate Student Board come together to celebrate these exceptional alumni, students, staff, faculty and friends. The awards presented hold great honor in the CFANS community. In 2017, the the Borealis Circle was formed to further recognize key individuals who have brought everlasting honor to the college.

The 2022 award recipients are:

Student Leadership Award — Undergraduate Student — Trey Feuerhelm, Forestry and Natural Resource Management
Student Leadership Award — Graduate Student— Sonali Raghunath (MS ’19 and PhD Food Science)
Exemplary Undergraduate Student Organization — Ag Business Club
Exemplary Graduate Student Organization — CFANS Graduate Student Board
Outstanding Club Advisor — Matthew Russell, Forest Resources
Exemplary Staff — Tammi Pekkala Matthews, Entomology
Exemplary Faculty — (less than 5 years)— Amelia Lindsey, Entomology
Exemplary Faculty — (more than 5 years)— Jim Anderson (BS ’87 Agronomy), Agronomy and Plant Genetics
Exemplary Post-Doc — Benjamin Cull, Entomology
Little Red Oil Can (individual or group of individuals) —Ryan Murphy (MPS ’14 Horticulture)
Outstanding Friend — Chris Gindorff, Hy-Vee
Community Builder (New) — Myah Walker (BS ’10 Animal Science)
Rising Star (New) — Emily Krekelberg (BS ’13 Animal Science, MS 18 Agricultural Education)
Alumni Service — Michael Mulder (BS ’81 Agricultural Education)
Distinguished Alumni — Paul Hugunin (BS ’89 Agricultural Business Administration)
Lifetime Achievement — Mary Ann Bannerman (BS ’72 Home Economics)

16th Annual Borealis Night of Excellence
Thursday, April 21, 2022
5:00 p.m. Reception - North Star Ballroom
5:45 p.m. Awards program - North Star Ballroom
2nd floor, St. Paul Student Center

 Register by April 13

Lillian Prybil – President, CFANS Undergraduate Student Board
Siane Luzzi – Chair, CFANS Graduate Student Board
Roberta Ryan, '14 – President, CFANS Alumni Society Board of Directors

Borealis Awards are reviewed by members of the CFANS Alumni Society, Undergraduate Student Board, Graduate Student Board, Post-Doc Board, and Honors and Awards Committee.