UROP: Potential Faculty Sponsors in CFANS

If you want to do a project in the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP), the first steps are to identify a faculty member you'd like to work with, and to develop a proposal. Most faculty welcome the opportunity to supervise and collaborate with students on these projects.

A list of CFANS professors who have sponsored past UROP student-projects or who are willing to collaborate in the future can be explored below.

Expand all

+
Applied Economics

Applied Economics

Name Contact Interests

Elizabeth Davis
Department of Applied Economics

612-625-7028
edavis@umn.edu

Labor economics, poverty and welfare reform, rural economics

Frances Homans
Department of Applied Economics

612-625-6220
fhomans@umn.edu

Regulation of renewable natural resources, both in commercial and recreational settings

Jason Kerwin

612-625-5719
jkerwin@umn.edu

Development and growth, health economics, labor economics

+
Food, Animal and Nutritional Sciences

Food, Animal and Nutritional Sciences

Name Contact Interests

Brian Crooker
Department of Animal Science

612-625-3185
crook001@umn.edu

Nutritional physiology and lactation in dairy cattle

Craig Hassel
Department of Food Science and Nutrition

612-624-7288
chassel@umn.edu

Diversity in food and health epistemology, cross-cultural engagement

Anup Johny

 

612-625-5277
anupjohn@umn.edu

Interventional microbiology, food safety and quality

Ted LaBuza
Department of Food Science and Nutrition

612-624-9701
tplabuza@umn.edu

Water activity, food stability, food safety, food law, shelf life testing and dating, bioterrorism, contaminants in food, time-temperature integrator tags

Krishona Martinson
Department of Animal Science

krishona@umn.edu
 

Equine forage utilization, equine industry impacts and trends

Douglas Mashek
Department of Food Science & Nutrition

612-626-2904
dmashek@umn.edu

Saturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids

Laura Mauro
Department of Animal Science

612-624-6274
mauro002@umn.edu

Cellular biology, animal physiology

Len Marquart
Department of Food Science and Nutrition

612-624-3255
lmarquar@umn.edu

Food quality, food service management, whole grains and health, cereal grains

Melissa Palmer

612-625-1814
melissap@umn.edu

Animal physiology

Marla Reicks
Department of Food Science and Nutrition

612-624-4735
mreicks@umn.edu

Nutrition education and application of behavior change theory

Gary. A. Reineccius

greinecc@umn.edu Encapsulation of food ingredients, emulsions and flavoromics (chemometrics as applied to flavor chemistry)

Milena Saqui-Salces

612-624-4277
msaquisa@umn.edu

Endocrine function of the gastrointestinal tract

Tonya Schoenfuss
Department of Food Science & Nutrition

612-624-3090
tschoenf@umn.edu

Cheese processing and manufacturing, fermented milks

Joanne Slavin
Department of Food Science & Nutrition

612-624-7234
jslavin@umn.edu

Dietary fiber, resistant starch, phytochemicals

Chery Smith
Department of Food Science and Nutrition

612-624-2217
cscsmith@umn.edu

Social affects of nutritional status and dietary behavior, obesity

Zata Vickers
Department of Food Science and Nutrition

612-624-2257
zvickers@umn.edu

Food acceptability, sensory evaluation of foods

+
Plant Sciences

Plant Sciences

Name Contact Interests

Neil Anderson
Department of Horticultural Science

612-624-6701
ander044@umn.edu

Flower breeding and genetics

Lois Braun
Department of Agronomy & Plant Genetics

651-641-1880
brau0259@umn.edu

 

Changbin Chen
Department of Horticultural Science

612-626-5965
chenx481@umn.edu

Plant molecular genetics

Dr. Jerry Cohen
Department of Horticultural Science

612-624-9212
cohen047@umn.edu

Plant biochemistry, cellular and molecular biology related to the regulation of plant growth and development

Julie Grossman
 

612-625-8597
jgross@umn.edu

Organic agriculture, soil nutrient cycling, legume cover crops, rhizobia ecology, biological nitrogen fixation

Linda Kinkel
Department of Plant Pathology

612-625-0277
kinkel@umn.edu

Ecology of plant-associated micro-organisms, especially antibiotic-producing bacteria, in native prairie and in agricultural soils

James Kurle
Department of Plant Pathology

612-625-3167
kurle001@umn.edu

Soybean yield, soybean cultivars

Mary Meyer

612-301-1247
meyer023@umn.edu

Plant identification and landscape usage, ornamental and native grasses, prairie restoration

Mary Rogers

612-624-8871
roge0168@umn.edu

Organic horticultural food systems, insect pest management, vegetable crop management systems, controlled environment agriculture, urban agriculture

Deborah Samac
Department of Plant Pathology

612-625-1243
adasamac@umn.edu

Disease resistance and persistence of alfalfa stands, and to introduce new traits into alfalfa to increase utilization in new environments and for new uses

Alan Smith
Department of Horticultural Science

612-624-9290
smith022@umn.edu

Genetics, biotechnology, tissue cultures

Brian Steffenson
Department of Plant Pathology

612-625-4735
bsteffen@umn.edu

Barley genetics, disease resistance

Cindy Tong
Department of Horticultural Science

612-624-3419
c-tong@umn.edu

Molecular biology

Eric Watkins
Department of Horticultural Science

612-624-7496
ewatkins@umn.edu

Turfgrass science

+
Bioresources and Bioenergy

Bioresources and Bioenergy

Name Contact Interests

Abdennour Abbas

612-624-4292
aabbas@umn.edu

Biosensors and bionanotechnology for food safety, environmental control, biodiagnostics, and biodefense

Bo Hu
Department of Bioproducts & Biosystems Engineering

612-625-4215
bhu@umn.edu

Biomaterials and drug delivery, cell immobilization and granulation

Kevin Janni
Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

612-625-3108
kjanni@umn.edu

Air quality, livestock systems, ventilation

Pete Marchetto

201-403-5470
marchetto@umn.edu

Sensors and sensing systems for environmental applications, outdoor robotics

Roger Ruan
Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

612-625-1710
ruanx001@umn.edu

Biorefining, bioprocessing, biofuel, biomaterial and value-added process development

Sangwon Suh
Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

612-624-5307
sangwon@umn.edu

Industrial ecology and life cycle analysis

Ulrike Tschirner
Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering

612-624-8798
tschi007@umn.edu

Biomass conversion (pretreatment, saccharification, pulping)

+
Environmental Sciences, Policy and Management

Environmental Sciences, Policy and Management

Name Contact Interests

Todd Arnold
Department of FisheriesWildlife & Conservation Biology

612-624-2220
arnol065@umn.edu

Population ecology and management of grassland and wetland-dependent wildlife

Robert Blair
Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

612-624-2198
blairrb@umn.edu

Land use effects on bird and butterfly communities

Dean Current
Department of Forest Resources

612-624-4299
curre002@umn.edu

Fair trade, sustainable natural resource management

Mae Davenport
Department of Forest Resources

612-625-5212
mdaven@umn.edu

Sustainable land use, recreation planning, community-based ecosystem management

Tim Griffis
Department of Soil, Water and Climate

612-625-3117
tgriffis@umn.edu

Climatology

Jose Hernandez
Department of Soil, Water & Climate

612-625-4731
jahernan@umn.edu

 

Mark Hove
Department of Fisheries Wildlife & Conservation Biology

612-624-3019
hovex002@umn.edu

Freshwater mussels, upper-Midwest mussel and fish distribution

Kenneth Kozak
Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

612-624-3982
kozak016@umn.edu

Amphibians and reptiles species accumulation

Edward Nater
Department of Soil, Water & Climate

612-625-1725
enater@umn.edu

Biogeochemical processes of mercury and other pollutants, wet soils, peatlands

Ray Newman

612-625-5704
rnewman@umn.edu

Aquatic ecology, invasive species, and fisheries management

Ingrid Schneider
Department of Forest Resources

612-624-2250
ingridss@umn.edu

Attitudes and behaviors of those involved in recreation and nature-based tourism activities. Specific interests include conflict and diversity in recreation

Andrew Simons
Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

612-624-6292
asimons@umn.edu

Fish distribution and evolution

David Smith
Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

612-624-5369
smith017@umn.edu

Biology and conservation of Asian mammals, conservation data bases, ecosystem management, and population genetic structure

Peter Sorensen
Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

612-624-4997
soren003@umn.edu

Physiology and behavior of fish; olfaction, fish reproductive biology, pheromones, control of exotics, fish migration, aquatic chemical ecology

Dawn Tanner
Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

tann0042@umn.edu Urban wildlife and remote-camera monitoring

Brandy Toner
Department of Soil, Water & Climate

612-624-1362
toner@umn.edu

Chemical and biological processes of metals

Robert Venette
Department of Entomology

651-649-5028
venet001@umn.edu

Invasion biology and population ecology of exotic species, statistical methods to quantify risk associated with pink bollworm on cotton

Bruce Vondracek
Department of Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

612-624-8748
vondr001@umn.edu

Fish community ecology and stream ecology
Marcella Windmuller-Campione

612-624-3699
mwind@umn.edu

Silviculture and applied forest ecology